It is hard to describe my personal design style as there are so many styles that I like. I enjoy blending many genres together, using what I love most from each and attempting to create a new, unique look. I enjoy so many aspects of design and gain pleasure from such varying styles and yet I would like to think that the way I put things together creates my own personal style. I would like to think my friends could point to things in my home or work (or look at my pinterest boards!) and say, “Oh yes, that is so Corinna”  So, if I had to put it into words I would say I gravitate mostly to a classic look, with touches of modern design,  enjoy the use of  natural materials, and like to accessorize with pieces from around the world adding a bit of a bohemian quality. Might sound a bit much, but I think it works.  Its what’s beautiful for me.
Yet interestingly, I can thumb through an ultra modern design magazine in which not even a hint of any of the above appears and day dream. I do actually, once in a while, love a completely modern interior, bare and un-layered, clean lined and stark.  So here’s what I have decided:  In the same way that I know I am a city girl and need an urban backdrop to my life but adore being in the countryside from time to time surrounded by nature, so too is my relationship with modern design. I like to look at it. I like to be in its presence for a short while, but I probably couldn’t surround myself with it for all eternity.

That is why I have decided that the perfect,  most obvious necessity in my life is a second home – one that is ultra modern, completely minimalist, set in the country somewhere, with no other houses in sight, surrounded by nature. You know the kind: floor to ceiling windows, lots of white and wood and metal…

There’s only one problem with this scenario. It’s not quite in the budget…
But a person can dream and that is why when I imagine this house with me in it, I imagine it is in another life…

Here are some of my favorite modern interiors (and exteriors) from around the web.

     
      

Hope you enjoyed!

